JLPT, the acronym for Japanese Language Proficiency Test (Nihongo N?ryoku Shiken) is conducted by Japanese Government all over the world on every first Sunday of July and Dec every year.It has Five levels namely N1, N2, N3, N4, N5 respectively. N5 is the most basic and N1 is the most advanced.JLPT is divided into sections of Vocabulary, Reading, Listening and Grammar. The passing score ranges for all the 5 levels.In recent years, JLPT has been used for employment, salary increases, promotions, etc.


Due to the large scale of testing, answers will be machine-scored. Note that the JLPT does not include sections to measure speaking or writing proficiency directly.


  • N5
    Level to understand basic Japanese
    Understand simple conversations and greetings used in everyday life.(Learn about 100 simple kanji
  • N4
    Level to understand basic Japanese
    Understand that you speak slowly in conversations that occur on a daily basis. (Learn about 300 kanji and about 1500 words
  • N3
    Level to understand daily conversation
    Understand everyday conversations at natural speed. (Learn about 350 kanji and about 2250 words) Level required by Japanese companies
  • N2
    Can be understood in various situations
    Level to read newspapers, magazines and articles Almost understandable by watching TV news and conversations. (1000Kanji 6000 words) Level required by Japanese companies
  • N1
    Japanese people often can't get the perfect
    Can understand every scene, abstract expressions, and complex sentences